How it works

1. Sign up for free

website

Go to

registration.

APP

Get the nextbike app or VAG mobil app and register via smartphone.

Verify your account

  • The registration is free of charge. Before renting your first bike, we need to verify your payment method. You will be required to deposit a credit of 1 € which can be used in all fare types. You can change your preferred payment method at any time. 1€ will be debitted for verification with every change.

  • Payment with credit card, direct debit or PayPal*.

    * Your PayPal account needs to be verified. Learn more.

Signed up once you can use all nextbike affiliated bike sharing schemes in more than 200 cities worldwide.

2. Rent & Return

Quick. Simple. Flexible.

Loading...

RENT A BIKE

Scan the QR-code with the app. You can also rent bikes by calling our hotline: +49 (0) 221 29203390. The lock opens automatically so never rent a bike from afar.

Loading...

PARK A BIKE

You can park your bike without stopping the rental. Activate the park mode in your app and close the lock afterwards. Simply deactivate it again to continue your ride. The lock opens automatically. Therefore do not deactivate the park mode from afar.

Loading...

RETURN A BIKE

Return your bike at any official station or within the flex zone of Cologne. Close the lock by pressing down the lever. Refresh your app to make sure the rental has been stopped. Check the return options for information on where you can return your bike.

Loading...

RENT A BIKE

Tap your VRS chip card at the rear of the bike. The lock opens automatically. The account must be linked to the chip card beforehand by selecting a partner in the account.

Loading...

PARK A BIKE

You can park your bike without stopping the rental. Activate the park mode in your app and close the lock afterwards. Simply deactivate it again to continue your ride. The lock opens automatically. Therefore do not deactivate the park mode from afar.

Loading...

RETURN A BIKE

Return your bike at any official station or within the flex zone of Cologne. Close the lock by pressing down the lever. Refresh your app to make sure the rental has been stopped. Check the return options for information on where you can return your bike.

Return Options

 

Loading...

Return your bike at no extra charge in any blue street / flexzone or at a KVB-Rad station. For a 1€ - surcharge you can return the bike within the pink flexzone.
The return away from these options as well as on private property or in parks / green areas is generally prohibited. There is an automatic 20€ charge for this.

Tip: If the light at the rear of the bike flashes green during the rental, you can return the bike there (but not on private property or in parks). If it flashes red, you are outside the flexzone, where the bike may not be returned.

RESERVATION

You want to make sure that your desired bike will still be available in 15 minutes? Reserve it free of charge for up to 15 minutes before your ride. Simply activate the corresponding function in the app.

 

VRS CHIP CARD

Link your VRS chip card in your customer account under Partners by entering your chip card number and your age. Now verify your chip card once by using it as a rental medium at least for the first rental. You will then be able to cycle at a reduced rate for this and subsequent rentals.

1 ACCOUNT = 4 BIKES

You can rent up to four bikes at the same time using one account. Special rates and offers only apply to the first bike, additional bikes are charged at the standard rate. 

You can rent bikes in Cologne and pretty much any other nextbike-affiliated system worldwide.

Get the nextbike app...

Get the nextbike app...

Get the nextbike app...

...or get the KVB app

...or get the KVB app

...or get the KVB app

So geht's

1. Kostenlos registrieren

website

Hier geht’s zur

Registrierung.

APP

Hol dir die nextbike-App oder KVB-App und registriere dich bequem per Smartphone.

Verifiziere dein Kundenkonto​

  • Die Registrierung ist kostenlos. Zur Verifizierung deines Zahlungsmittels legst du ein Startguthaben von 1€ an, welches in allen Tarifen verfahren werden kann. Auch beim Wechsel des Zahlungsmittels wird dieses durch Abbuchung von 1€ verifiziert.

  • Zahlung per Kreditkarte, Lastschrift oder PayPal*.

    * Um PayPal nutzen zu können, muss das PayPal-Konto verifiziert sein. Mehr Infos.

Einmal beim KVB-Rad angemeldet, kannst du alle von nextbike betriebenen Fahrradverleihsysteme nutzen, 

sowohl in Deutschland als auch in weiteren Ländern.

2. Ausleihe, Fahrtpause und Rückgabe

Schnell. Einfach. Flexibel.

Loading...

RAD AUSLEIHEN

Scanne den QR-Code per App. Das Rahmenschloss am Hinterrad öffnet sich automatisch. Leihe ein Rad daher niemals aus der Ferne. Alternativ kannst du auch über unsere Hotline ausleihen: +49 (0) 221 29203390

Loading...

FAHRTPAUSE

Du kannst dein Rad parken, ohne die Ausleihe zu beenden. Aktiviere dazu den Fahrtpause-Modus in der App und schließe danach das Schloss. Hier kannst du ihn auch jederzeit wieder beenden, das Schloss öffnet sich automatisch. Beende den Fahrtpause-Modus daher niemals aus der Ferne.

Loading...

RAD ZURÜCKGEBEN

Stelle das Rad innerhalb der Flexzone oder an einer KVB-Rad-Station ab. Drücke den kleinen Hebel am Rahmenschloss nach unten. Aktualisiere deine App, um sicher zu gehen, dass die Ausleihe beendet wurde. Schau dir unter Rückgabe-Optionen an, wo du Räder zurückgeben kannst.

Loading...

RAD AUSLEIHEN

VRS-Chipkarte an den Sensor am Hinterrad halten. Das Rahmenschloss am Hinterrad öffnet sich automatisch. 

Hinweis: Die VRS-Chipkarte muss zuvor einmalig mit deinem Kundenkonto verknüpft werden. Logge dich dazu in dein Kundenkonto ein und gib unter "Partner" deine Chipkartennummer ein.

Loading...

FAHRTPAUSE

Du kannst dein Rad parken, ohne die Ausleihe zu beenden. Aktiviere dazu den Fahrtpause-Modus in der App und schließe danach das Schloss. Hier kannst du ihn auch jederzeit wieder beenden, das Schloss öffnet sich automatisch. Beende den Fahrtpause-Modus daher niemals aus der Ferne.

Loading...

RAD ZURÜCKGEBEN

Stelle das Rad innerhalb der Flexzone oder an einer KVB-Rad-Station ab. Drücke den kleinen Hebel am Rahmenschloss nach unten. Aktualisiere deine App, um sicher zu gehen, dass die Ausleihe beendet wurde. Schau dir unter Rückgabe-Optionen an, wo du Räder zurückgeben kannst.

Rückgabe-Optionen

 

Loading...

In der blauen Flexzone ist das Abstellen an jeder öffentlich einsehbaren Straße kostenlos.
Die flexible Rückgabe innerhalb der pinken Flexzone ist gegen einen Aufpreis von 1 € möglich.
Am Stadtrand kann das Rad nur an den Stationen zurückgegeben werden.
Die Rückgabe abseits dieser Optionen sowie auf Privatgelände oder in Parks / Grünanlagen ist generell untersagt. Hierfür fallen automatisch 20€ an.

Tipp: Schaue auf die Lampe am Hinterrad, bevor du dein Schloss schließt. Blinkt die Lampe schnell grün, ist die Rückgabe erlaubt (kostenlos bzw. 1 €). Blinkt die Lampe schnell rot, darf das Rad an diesem Standort nicht zurückgegeben werden.

RESERVIERUNG

Du möchtest sichergehen, dass dein Wunschrad auch in 15 Minuten noch verfügbar ist? Reserviere es bis zu 15 Minuten vor Fahrtantritt kostenfrei. Dazu einfach die entsprechende Funktion in der App aktivieren.

VRS-Chipkarte

Verknüpfe deine VRS-Chipkarte mit deinem KVB-Rad-Kundenkonto. Logge dich dazu einmalig ein und gib unter "Partner" deine Chipkartennummer und dein Alter ein. Verifiziere deine Chipkarte nun einmalig, indem du sie zumindest bei der ersten Ausleihe als Ausleihmedium nutzt. Schon radelst du für diese und folgende Ausleihen vergünstigt.

1 ACCOUNT = 4 RÄDER

Es können bis zu vier Räder gleichzeitig auf einen Account ausgeliehen werden, Tarife und Gutscheine gelten in der Regel jedoch nur für das erste Rad. 

Neben Rädern in Köln könnt ihr auch in (fast) allen nextbike-betriebenen Systemen in über 25 Ländern weltweit ausleihen. 

Hol' dir die nextbike App...

Hol' dir die nextbike App...

Hol' dir die nextbike App...

... oder die KVB-App

... oder die KVB-App

... oder die KVB-App